2013 AMC Museum Foundation Golf Tournament

The Air Mobility Command Museum Foundation fundraiser Golf Tournament on Friday, June 21, 2013, was a huge success as 72 golfers turned out for an afternoon of fun!

As this tournament is the Foundation's largest fundraiser, all the proceeds from this tournament are going to help us fulfill the mission of the AMC Museum as an aviation and aerospace, education, scientific, cultural, historical, and inspirational facility for the general public and the Air Force community.

It was a beautiful day for golfing, and everyone had a wonderful time. Not only did we enjoy the golf, but there was a nice dinner afterwards with a Silent Auction and prizes awarded to winning golfers. The winning Low Net team, with a score of 57, was comprised of Gary Chechett, George Courtney, Gary Glanden, and Jim Hutchison. Runner-up in the Low Net was the team of Mike Martin, John Tullis, Buck Weaver, and Ches Wise. In 3rd place in the Low Net was a team of Dottie Baker, Chuck Miller, Mike Wright, and Phil White. The Low Gross winners, with a score of 59, was the team of Kevin Boylan, Mike Mendoza, Mason Mendoza, and John Tinsley. With a shot stopping 4'3" from the hole, Sean Batson won the "Men's Closest to the Hole" prize. The Putting Contest, a long, breaking putt, was won by Mike Martin. With a drive landing "Closest to the Line", Bodie McCoy was the winner. A high-light of the day was on the 16th Hole where George Chabbott had sponsored a $500 award to the player getting their second shot closest to the par-5 hole. The happy winner was Mike Wright with a shot 16'2" from the hole edging out Brandon Sanders whose shot was 17'8". Mike donated back to the Foundation half of his winnings. A special thanks to Bettie Campbell of Dover Federal Credit Union for all her "behind the scenes" support.

Thinking ahead, we are already planning for next year's 10th Annual AMC Museum Foundation Golf Tournament. Please give consideration to joining us for a day of fun.

We would like to thank the following businesses, organizations, and individuals that sponsored a hole:

AMC Museum Foundation Board Members Associates International, Inc. Art and Bernice Ericson
Bob Welsh – In Memory of Linda Welsh Col. "Doc" Alvarez Commissioner Brooks Banta
Country Wine & Liquors Dave, Sharon, and John Wuest Dave Burke – 'The Model Store'
"Doc" and Dorothy Adams Don Sloan Dover Federal Credit Union
Dover Pool & Patio Center First State Manufacturing: Grotto Pizza Harrington ERA Realty
Harrington Race Track and Casino Harry Louie Laundry & Dry Cleaning H&R block – Greg Davenport
Hertrich Nissan Hollywood Diner I.G. Burton & Company, Inc.
Independent Newspapers – Delaware State News Jon and Louise Andrews Larry and Sally Williams
Liberty Chapter – Professional Loadmasters Association Lighthouse Construction Mayor Carleton E. Carey, Sr.
Nissan Motors – Milford Pat's Aviation Mr. B's Super Liquor Warehouse
Phil and Anne White PPG of Dover Proctor and Gamble: Dover Wipes
Regulatory Insurance Services, Inc. Rich and Dottie Harper Rich and Pat Roll
Tidewater Utilities Wells Fargo Home Mortgage/Wells Fargo Bank of Dover

We would like to thank the following corporate sponsors:

Ameriprise – Ron Scheff Dover Downs George Chabbott
Marion Klein Pepsi Bottling Ventures of Delmarva, LLC Price Honda
Sam's Club Standard Distributing Company Tidewater Utilities
Townsend Brothers Chevrolet

We would like to thank the following golf sponsors:

Jonathan's Landing Golf Club Maple Dale Country Club Wild Quail Country Club

We would like to thank the prize donors:

All Seasons AMC Museum Foundation AMC Museum Store
Capitol Tire & Auto Service, Inc. Cheddar's Restaurant Dover Downs Hotel
Dover Downs Frankie's Restaurant Meat Mechanics Bob Mench
Bob Mooney Phil White Westside Car Wash

Our sincere thanks go out to all of the above for making our 9th Annual AMC Museum Foundation Golf Tournament a huge success! Finally, this event could not have occurred were it not for the Golf Tournament Committee which put in many hours of preparation.

Finally, a special thanks to the Golf Committee of Art Ericson, Don Sloan, Ed Perkowski, Mike Quarnaccio, Rich Harper, and Phil White. Lastly, we want to thank Craig Coffield, Director of Golf, and his outstanding staff of Dave, Jim, and Karen at Jonathan's Landing Golf Club for all they did for us on Tournament Day!

Click on any image to view larger:

« Click to return to Events page